• The Murphy Chamber of Commerce is located at 206 N Murphy Road, Murphy, TX  75094. We offer a weekly business card exchange networking coffee, monthly luncheons, ribbon cuttings, additional chamber and tri-chamber (Murphy-Sachse-Wylie) networking mixers, education seminars, an extensive Chamber Directory, advertising discounts with the Murphy Messenger and Murphy Monitor, and business referrals. There are many opportunities to serve on committees and volunteer in our community.  Only through your participation can the Chamber grow and make an impact on the community, its people, and its businesses.

  • Scholarship Program

  • Murphy Chamber of Commerce Scholarship Program

    The Murphy Chamber of Commerce was formed in April 2003. The Chamber, wanting to give back to Murphy, decided to award scholarships of $1000 each to one (1) Murphy resident graduate in the two (2) school districts serving Murphy, PISD and WISD. The Chamber itself awarded these scholarships in 2005 and 2006. Realizing what this could become the Scholarship Foundation was formed as a spinoff from the Chamber, as a 501C3 Non-Profit in 2006 and first awarded two (2) $1000 scholarships in 2007. Jon Lashbrook has served as Chairman since the beginning and has managed the process as we increased both the size and number of awards over the years.

    In 2018, we again awarded $11,000! We reviewed 90+ applications and awarded six (6) $1,500 scholarships, three (3) into each school district (PISD and WISD). In addition, with the aid of the second year grant awarded by the Murphy Community Development Corporation (MCDC), we awarded four (4) $500 Teacher Grants, two (2) each into each district which serve our Murphy kids (PISD and WISD)! Lashbrook expressed great pleasure in remarking, “We are so proud to have awarded over $70,000 to Murphy graduates and their exceptional teachers since the Foundations inception! It is my opinion that of all the great things our Chamber does, our Scholarship Foundation is the best!”

    2018 Scholarship Recipients:

    In PISD, scholarships were awarded to Abenzer Nuro, Samantha Sullivan, and Ogechi Ngwakwe.  Abenezer loves technology, innovation and robotics and is planning to attend the University of North Texas, majoring in computer engineering.  Samantha is involved with athletics and extracurriculars and plans to attend Texas A&M, majoring in Kinesiology.  Ogechi is involved in many extracurriculars and plans to attend the University of Houston, majoring in bio-chemistry.

    In WHS, scholarships were awarded to Savannah Callender, Kaitlyn Fletcher, and Syed Hassan.  Savannah is very involved in extracurriculars, including her achievement as a powerlifter finalist.  She plans to attend the University of Arkansas, majoring in Nursing.  Kaitlyn is very active in extracurriculars and plans to attend Texas Tech University, majoring in Nursing.  Syed is very interested in Information Technology, already having advanced in the IT Skills USA competition. He plans to attend the University of Texas at Dallas with additional plans to transfer to the University of Washington to follow a career path at Microsoft.

    Selected for Teacher Grants were Miranda Hayes and Keisha Major from PISD and Debbie Hazelwood and Amanda Cooper from WISD.  These exceptional teachers all worked with Murphy youth this past school year and best made their cases to receive recognition. This is the eight year of grants to teachers, who use the funds to enhance the teaching curriculum in their respective classrooms.


    Miranda is a speech pathologist at McMillian High School and has been teaching for 11 years. She plans to use her grant to fund activities that will allow her students to practice vocational and expressive language skills.  Keisha teaches special education at McMillian High School and has been teaching for 7 years.  She plans to use her grant to purchase materials that will enhance the programs which teach her students the real world experiences they will encounter.


    Debbie teaches 2nd grade at Tibbals Elementary and has taught for 15 years. She plans to use her grant to fund activities from "Think Fun" and the addition of a robot to her classroom.  Amanda has been teaching 1st grade at Tibbals Elementary for 6 years.  She will use her grant to fund technology items such as iPad games, listening center equipment and digital newsletter subscriptions.

    View Student application

    View Teacher application


    Content goes here!

  • The mission of the Murphy Chamber of Commerce is to promote and strengthen business relationships through membership, offer solutions for their needs and create the best community in which to work and grow a business.

    The Murphy Chamber is a non-profit organization.

    Office:  Inside City Hall, First Floor, 206 N Murphy Road, Murphy

    Mailing Address:  120 E FM 544, Suite 72, PMB 157, Murphy, TX  75094

    Chamber Executive Director: Juli Richards

    Email:  info@murphychamber.org

    Telephone:  972-805-3749

    Website: www.murphychamber.org


  • 2018 Scholarship Recipients

    2018 Scholarship Foundation Recipients

    From L-R: Abenezer Nuro, Ogechi Ngwakwe, Savannah Callender, Kaitlyn Fletcher and Samantha Sullivan.  Jon Lashbrook, State Farm Insurance; Murphy Chamber Scholarship Foundation Chairman,  pictured in back row.

    From L-R: Teacher grant winners. From Plano ISD: Miranda Hayes and Keisha Major. From Wylie ISD: Debbie Hazelwood and Amanda Cooper. Jon Lashbrook, State Farm Insurance; Murphy Chamber Scholarship Foundation Chairman,  pictured in back row.